Skip to Content

Velmead Common, Fleet

SN Handicap

Wed 14 June, 2017

Near: Fleet
Level of event: Activity

Type of event: Race

SN Handicap. Please email Jon Magee (jon(at) at least one week before the event if you wish to run as start times need to be allocated in advance. The aim of the handicap is for everyone to finish the course at the same time. Start times are allocated based on your league handicap and the estimated time for you to complete the course.


SN 2017 Handicap Results

Pre Event Info

Directions / Parking

Parking is at Velmead Junior School, Velmead Road, Fleet, GU52 7LG

Course Information

You can only enter the SN Handicap if you have a start time

The start times are chosen so that in theory all competitors will finish at the same time.    The course will be 4-5km with most starts between 7 and 7.15 targeting a 7.45 finish

A few spare maps will be printed for anyone who turns up on the night, but you will not be eligible to win the handicap.

Entry Details

Free to club members.

Non-members £2

Registration & Start Times

Please allow at about 5 minutes to walk to the start plus time to get in the correct start order.

From Velmead school please cross Velmead Road and head East until you get to Fir Tree Way.

Cross back over the road into the woods and follow the tapes in the woods to the start.

There will be no large signs as we are trying to be as discreet as possible.

Final start list:

Blackford 06:40:00
Blackford 06:41:00
Blackford 06:42:00
CameronCromwell 06:43:00
Trish Wallis 06:45:00
Tony Painter 06:50:00
Julie Leppard 06:51:00
Robert Leppard 06:53:00
Gill Sharp 06:54:30
Vanessa Thorpe 06:56:00
Paul Emmerson 06:56:30
Nick Grant 06:58:00
Helen Ashenden 06:59:00
Jenny Bray 06:59:30
Mike Bray 07:00:00
David Lane 07:01:00
Chris Ashenden 07:01:30
David Thorpe 07:02:00
Marcus Bateman 07:02:30
Laura Barrett 07:03:00
Stephen Peacock 07:03:30
Colin Swallow 07:04:00
John Tzanetis 07:04:30
Mark Howell 07:05:00
Jon Darley 07:05:20
Robert Thorpe 07:05:40
Katie Clarke 07:06:00
Debra Robinson 07:06:30
Alan Wallis 07:07:00
Sarah Francis 07:07:30
Jane Archer 07:08:00
David Chapman 07:08:30
Helen Le Page 07:09:00
Martin Kensett 07:09:30
Megan Bett 07:10:00
Jon Magee 07:10:30
Ollie Smith 07:11:00
Keith Belsey 07:11:30
Paul Martin 07:12:00
Paul Fox 07:12:20
Cameron Lamond 07:12:40
Axel Blomquist 07:13:00
Steve McKinley 07:13:30
Matthew Grant 07:14:00
Nicholas Barrett 07:14:30
Pete Jones 07:15:00
Sue Bett 07:15:30
Alex Bett 07:17:30
Adam Rose 07:18:00
Peter Daplyn 07:18:30
Thomas Howell 07:19:00
Richard Barrett 07:20:00


We will not have access to toilets.

Contacts / Officials

Organiser: Lucy Paton

Important Event Information

Safety and Risk: A comprehensive risk assessment will have been carried out by the organiser, but participants take part at their own risk and are responsible for their own safety during the event.

Insurance: Please note that if you have competed in three orienteering events but have not become a member of British Orienteering then you are not covered by our public liability insurance.

Privacy: when entering our events your name may appear in the results section of this website or in newspaper reports. Read our data protection page to see how we look after your personal data.